BTEC Tech Award

Health and Social Care

Curriculum Road Map HSC

This award is equivalent to one GCSE.

It can be awarded at level 1 or level 2, Pass, Merit, Distinction and Level 2 Distinction*.

What does the qualification cover?

The Tech Award gives learners the opportunity to develop sector-specific knowledge and skills in a practical learning environment.

The main focus is on three areas, which cover:

  • Skills and processes, such as interpreting data to assess an individual’s health, and designing a plan to improve their health and wellbeing
  • Attitudes, namely the care values that are vitally important in the sector, and the opportunity to practise applying them
  • Knowledge that underpins the effective use of skills, processes and attitudes, including human growth and development, health and social care services, and factors affecting people’s health and wellbeing.


Learners are required to complete and achieve all the components included in the qualification.

  Component title /How it is assessed

1   Human Lifespan Development                                 Internal

2   Health and Social Care Services and Values         Internal

3   Health and Wellbeing                                                Synoptic External

Sign up to our Newsletter

Leave a message with Reception

  • Strong and trusting relationships consistently create a calm and purposeful working atmosphere.


  • Students have access to a wide range of exciting resources and learn specific skills through well-paced and sequenced activities.


  • Behaviour around the school is consistently orderly and students are polite and helpful.


  • Without a doubt, my time at Haywood firmly placed me on the path to Oxford.

    Jordan Williamson, Trinity College, Oxford